Locking Megaport Services

If you have Company Admin permission for the Megaport Portal, you can lock Megaports, Megaport Cloud Routers (MCRs), Internet Exchanges (IXs) and other Megaport services to prevent modification or deletion. For information on user roles such as Company Admin, see Managing User Roles within the Megaport Portal.

You can only lock a Megaport or an MCR if its Provisioning Status is “Live”. If you order a Megaport or MCR without deploying any Virtual Cross Connects, (VXCs), the padlock icon is dimmed until connectivity is established and the status is “Live”.

Watch a 2-minute video tutorial:

To verify the Megaport or MCR status

  1. Log in to the Megaport Portal and choose Services.
  2. Click the gear icon next to the Megaport or MCR.

3. On the Port or MCR Details page, click Details.

4. Verify that the status of the Megaport or MCR is LIVE.

To lock a Megaport or MCR

  1. Log in to the Megaport Portal and choose Services.
  2. Click the padlock icon next to the Megaport or MCR you would like to lock.Example 1: A Megaport (DRNYC1) has a VXC attached (Singapore SG2). The padlock icons on the Megaport and VXC indicate that the Megaport’s provisioning status is live, traffic is traversing across the VXC, and both services can be locked.

Example 2: The same Megaport and VXC are shown; however, even though the Megaport is unlocked, the VXC remains locked. When a single VXC is locked, it is not possible to delete the VXC, the Megaport, or any attached services (as indicated by the dimmed Delete Port icons). To delete the Megaport, a Company Admin user must unlock the VXC first.

To lock an Internet Exchange or Virtual Cross Connect service

  1. Log in to the Megaport Portal and choose Services.
  2. Click the padlock icon next to the Megaport service you would like to lock.

User role permissions

If an Admin user below Company Admin (such as a Technical Admin or Finance Admin user) has permission to make changes, they still won’t be able to delete or edit any locked Megaport service. Only a user with Company Admin permissions can unlock the service. When a user without permission attempts to make a change, a warning appears:

Users at access levels below Company Admin can perform the following tasks:

  • Add VXCs/IX services to locked Megaport services – Additional services will not be set to Locked status. By default, they will be set to Unlocked.
  • View details of locked Megaport services – If a service is locked, its status can be viewed on the Details page.

©2020 Megaport. Megaport, Virtual Cross Connect, VXC and MegaIX are registered trademarks of Megaport (Services) Pty Ltd ACN 607 432 646.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?